Learn the secrets of playing Golf well, this video shows you golf rules by golf is hard tv .
Tags:How to Play Golf Rules - Golf Is Hard Tv ,golf,Golf is Hard TV,golf lessons,golf rules,golf srategy,golf technique,golf tips
Grab video code:
How to Play Golf Rules - Golf Is Hard Tv
Golf is hard tv The golf show for the rest of us
Episode 32 The rules for the rest of us
Marc: Welcome to another episode of Golf is Hard TV. The Golf show for the rest of us, today we’ve got the rules for the rest of us, right so we got a copy of the official USGA rules of golf. Dave is showing it to you.
Dave: Just like the Wine Library.
Marc: The Wine Library that’s exactly right and we’re not going to talk too much about rules, a little bit but first of all you can get your own copy of the rules, just join USGA and we’ll send you a hat and the rules of golf and you can kind of come through these and the rules of amateur status too.
Dave: That’s a nice little pocket size made to keep in the golf bag.
Marc: Yeah so you can whip it out on your buddies.
Dave: Yeah exactly.
Marc: And you’re going to show rule 34 obstruction in case of— let me ask you a sort of a high level question. When as an average golfer, when do I think about the rules and do I think about it in every round I play, just when attending a tournament and when do they apply, I guess?
Dave: That’s a great question because I mean most people really don’t play by the rules or know much about the rules and the thing is it’s good to know the rules because a lot of times they can benefit you as to where you can drop your ball sometimes. How many, you know is it two strokes or one stroke and a lot of times the reason to know the basic rules are to use it to your advantage and you want to play fair I mean there are no referee’s out when you’re golfing.
Dave: That’s the great thing about the integrity of the game, things that we teach kids. It’s up to you. If you’re ball moves or if you’re moving a branch and your ball rolls I mean that’s a penalty.
Dave: And it’s up to you to call yourself on that unless someone sees you and talk to them.
Marc: Talk to them.
Dave: And you see you know the thing is there’s an obligation, well, it’s your question, the rules probably you want to start to play more by the rules when you get better and certainly when you’re in competition you have to know the rules at least the basic ones.
Dave: But you know out there on the tour for instance, if a player sees another player, you know if it sees the rules of fraction the other player is obligated to report that because it’s against the whole field. It’s not just against the three of them in that threesome.
Marc: So when you’re playing tournaments you obviously need to now at least the basic rules. This happened to me last year I was on a kind of on a hill and I definitely addressed the ball rounded the club and all of a sudden the sucker started rolling down the hill. I was like, I don’t really know what the rules, what was the rule there.
Dave: That rule because you addressed it. Now you actually caused that to— maybe you didn’t but you probably did. According to the rules you did, so you have to replace the ball.
Marc: Put it back, now is the lesson learned is don’t address the ball.
Dave: And you get a 1 stroke penalty.
Marc: Now if the ball is on shaky ground.
Dave: Exactly because— and they talk about a lot especially when it’s windy and on a putting green too.
Dave: I remember watching one tournament last year on TV and the thing is the wind especially the greens are very fast and very sloped and once that player addresses the ball, touches the ground behind then they would address the bal and then if it moves out then they get the penalty that’s why they recommend don’t sole the club same out in the fairway or whatever if you’re on kind of like I said a hill or something.
Marc: Yeah, so you know there’s something missing form here I think. I mean maybe it’s just me, but I’m looking at the index here and you know I’m looking under M and I don’t see Mulligans and I’m curious why I don’t see Mullignas not in the rules of golf.
Dave: I bet the average golfer most people think that Mulligans a part of the game. Mulligans do not exist according to the rules of golf. You know what’s it called in the rules?
Dave: Provisional so if you hit a ball and let’s say I’m out of bounds down the right side which by the way we’ll talk about the red stakes, yellow stakes and white stakes quickly. If you hit a ball and you think it’s lost, then you say okay provisional so that you can hit another one. Now it’s not a mulligan. The thing is you do it the same time so you hit a provisional, if you find the first one and its not— let’s say it’s just on the woods but there aren’t white stakes you have to play the first and then you pick up the second.
Marc: So if you’re playing with your buddies not competitive what typically— how many mulligans can you take?
Dave: It’s up to you.
Marc: The easy one really.
Dave: Basically you don’t. Mullignas don’t exist like I said, if you really want to get better, you eliminate that thought from your mind.
Marc: Just go hit that shots.
Dave: Now some times and we used to do this even you know scratch golfers do this, you get out there, there’s no range. You go right from the first tee, hit to take off the first hole.
Dave: That’s it so you can hit 2 that’s if you don’t have force behind and the way it’s played.
Marc: Alright. Let’s quickly talk about the mulligans? Let’s talk about the stakes real quick because I see stakes all the time red I know is bad I try to avoid those.
Dave: Not always bad red can save you.
Marc: It can save you. That’s true. So you have red, yellow and white. Okay so what are those?
Dave: Okay so define a hazard, a hazard is a bunker or water hazard marked by yellow or red, those are the hazards.
Marc: Okay and if you hit the ball into a hazard.
Dave: Yeah there are certain rules that apply.
Dave: Yeah so there’s a hazard which are all of those now more specifically a water hazard which are marked by red and yellow and more specifically a lateral water hazard marked by red.
Dave: They are all. It’s not red it’s pretty simple actually, there’s some different rules that apply the red versus yellow because there are certain things you can’t do if you hit it to a red stake area vs. a yellow stake and one is you cannot drop behind a lateral water hazard that’s why it’s called lateral.
Dave: So you’re on the fairway or you on the tee and there’s water all the way on the right side usually there’ll be red stakes a couple feed in that’s lateral water hazard you couldn’t possibly drop it behind that hazard in line with the hole.
Marc: To be in water.
Dave: Exactly. So there are certain rules there a typical water hazard marked by yellow stakes could be a creek running perpendicular to the fairway or it could be alike in front of the green and it will be marked by yellow so as you approach that hazard marked by yellow.
Marc: You hit it in a watered area, you’ve got, you can drop it behind.
Dave: You can drop it behind. You can go back as far. You can always re tee so if you hit it out of bounds or in a red hazard or yellow hazard you an always opt to re hit the shot and that can be your mulligan. You can call that a mulligan.
Marc: Still count that first shot though.
Dave: Absolutely it’s mostly kind of like so the difference in between red and yellow basically is with and uses your advantage if you hit it in a water hazard marked by yellow you keep the point between where it went in the flag. You can come back as far as you want in that line. You can come back to your perfect you know favorite yards 120 hit in the red basically you would drop it with in. I’m pretty sure it’s nearest point of where it went in and it’s two club lengths.
Marc: I probably can find this one here.
Dave: Two club lengths from the point where it went in, it is two.
Marc: Because I’ve got you know I don’t know about 147 pages.
Dave: Yeah there’s a lot there. It’s not just 36 rules or 36 ABCD you know it’s just amazing also.
Marc: Let’s wrap this up with a random rule I’m just going to open this and see what we got.
Dave: Oh by the way white stakes are out of bounds.
Dave: Two stroke penalty.
Marc: Oh this is a good one rule 3 4 refusal to comply with the rule.
Dave: You get kicked off the golf course.
Marc: The competitor refuses to comply with the rule and you would have to know what the rules are of course. Affecting the rights of another competitor—
Dave: Interesting I have to say fine qualification yeah for me.
Marc: Very good.
Dave: One more, one more.
Marc: One more, here we go random rule 27 playing from the wrong place. Now there’s a bunch of revisions here let’s—
Dave: That’s the question you just asked what if that ball or your ball rolled down the hill you play it from there it’s playing from the wrong place.
Marc: Yeah. So in general, yeah there’s a general rule, there’s a max play rule and as stroke play rule and then there’s a bunch.
Dave: Yeah because technically you’re not playing form the wrong place because it’s your ball.
Dave: Unless it moves that’s the wrong place.
Marc: So usually I’ll just talk about C27 C stroke play the competitor makes a stroke from the wrong place he incurs a penalty at 2 strokes under the rule.
Marc: And of course if he disagrees with that rule.
Dave: I guess so.
Marc: Alright that’s the rule show. And if you have questions for us on rules, we have the book so we you can ask us and we’re going to look it up for you and it’s another great episode, hopefully another great, I keep saying—
Dave: I think it’s a great episode because there’s so much to talk about.
Marc: Oh great.
Dave: We just hopefully saved a few shots and get drop your ball in a little better position and win that match.
Marc: Rules of golf, golf is hard tv see you next time.